Collaborators and Permissions

User Permissions

There are three levels of permissions on the Platform:

  • Admin: Has access to all projects, can create other Admins, and can shutdown/manage any user-created analysis processes (e.g. a Jupyter session)
  • Standard: May be invited to projects as owners, editors, or viewers
  • Read-Only: May only be invited to projects as viewers

If you’re an Admin, you can add and remove users by visiting the Administration menu in the top navigation bar. Click on the Users & Teams tab.

../_images/users-team-1.png

Project Permissions

By default, when you create a project you will be the only one who can see or change it. It will not appear in the Projects list for anyone else. To give others access, visit the Project Settings tab and click Invite Collaborators.

When you add a collaborator to a project, you’ll assign one of three permission levels. The following actions are available to each level:

Action Own Edit View
View outputs Yes Yes Yes
View activity Yes Yes Yes
View files Yes Yes No
Launch containers (runs; sessions; APIs; etc.) Yes Yes No
Edit environment variables Yes Yes No
Invite collaborators with Read access Yes Yes No
Invite collaborators with Edit access Yes Yes No
Invite collaborators with Own access Yes No No

Warning

Admin users have full access to all projects, regardless of whether they have been added as a collaborator. Read-Only users can only have View permission to a project, regardless of what permission they’ve been given by the project owner.

Teams

You can group teammates into teams and add them as collaborators to projects all at once with the same permission level. To create a team, visit Administration > Users & Teams and click Add New under the Teams section.

You can visit a team by clicking on the team name. From this page, you can add or remove members and edit the team information:

../_images/users-team-1.png

If you’re added to a project as an individual and through a team invite, you’ll get the most specific permission level first, followed by the highest permission level. For example, if you’re given View permission to a project and you’re on a team with Edit permissions, you’ll have View permission. If you’re on two teams added to a project, one with View and the other with Edit permission, you’ll have Edit permissions.